Which states have minimum wage laws?
A few days ago, Massachusetts became the latest state to add a new wage requirement for its workers.
According to the Boston Globe, Massachusetts workers who earn $9 per hour or less must be paid at least $10 per hour, up from the current $9.50.
And if you earn more than $10 an hour, you’ll have to work a minimum of eight hours a day.
The minimum wage in other states will be indexed to inflation, and the federal minimum will be $7.25 per hour in 2018.
The Massachusetts wage hike is a big step for the state, and could potentially have a ripple effect nationwide.
For now, though, it’s a small victory for workers.
Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker says that his state is making progress, and says that the new law will help the state become a leader in the economy.
But that’s not good enough for the Massachusetts AFL-CIO, which is calling for a statewide minimum wage hike to $15 per hour.
The AFL-Peteclass has launched a petition to urge Governor Baker to raise the minimum wage, and they’re asking the public to sign the petition.
We urge the governor to do so and to protect working families, as this is the only way that this state will be able to provide full protection to working families.
“This is not just a state issue, this is an economic issue, and we’ve got to be doing something to stop the devastating job losses and the lost jobs that are happening,” AFL-Class President John R. Sweeney said in a statement.